Skip to content

Tuesday Two.Oh! A tool to keep your life in order

Tuesday, June 7, 2011
by

Tuesday Two.Oh! is not meant as an endorsement, but as an exploration of the tools that are out there. Click at your own risk. :)

Today on Tuesday Two.Oh! we’re going to be talking about the infamous to-do list.  I have one, my coworkers have them, and I’m sure you have your own sitting right there on your desk or in a Microsoft word doc.  The tool we’ll be talking about today is geared towards anyone with tasks…which is most people.  So, without further ado, let’s take a look at Todo.ly.

Todo.ly is on of the easier tools I’ve examined lately- which isn’t all that surprising when we’re talking about an electronic t0-do list.  Never-the-less, I thought this tool was simple to use, easy to learn, and really efficient.

I do think of a to-do list as an essential part of my job- just because there are so many tasks to keep track of as a professional.  I’ve never really updated to an online to-do (I can’t say why- I live on my phone…) and my current list looks like this:

Ugh, yes, I know.  The dark ages.

So, the first thing I did was create an account on Todo.ly.  It was easy, and I had the option of just setting up the account through my Google Gmail account.  Which I did.  Here’s what the sign-up looks like:

I just clicked on the Google icon, gave Todo.ly permission, and I was in!  Sometimes you wonder about these things being TOO easy….

Anyway, once you sign in you’re greeted with a menu of filters and projects, all waiting for input.

I’ll admit now, I didn’t really mess with the Filters menu.

The Projects menu is completely customizable.  Since I focus my to-dos mostly on work and home I deleted all of the other supplied projects (meaning, I’m currently not in school, so the Study project above was deleted).  It’s really simple to add a project, so if you delete something don’t worry about it.

For instance, I quickly created a COIL list for my duties as COIL Chair.

Just type and click add. I added a COIL to-do and an OKACRL to-do.  It’s easy to drag and drop projects into new lists- below you’ll see that I added COIL items to my work to-do list.  All I need to do is drag those items to the desired list- and poof! they’re there.

Here’s how todo.ly looks when you first log in.

The items you see at the top of this image are tasks that are automatically loaded into your account to acquaint you with the site.  Click the check-boxes and they’ll be marked as done.

So, really the first thing you need to concern yourself with is inputting items.  There’s a input menu for a the title of the task and the due date.


Title and due date- voila!

Here’s what my to-do looks like with a couple of items typed into it (and I wish this was my to-do list, this is so beautifully short).

As I mentioned before, dragging and dropping other items into my other project lists will keep my work-flow seperated.

When you’ve completed a task the item moves to the bottom of the list, crossed out.  Like so:

You can arrange your list by order, priority and by due date.

It’s easy to print your list as well.  The printed version will have larger check boxes.

And, that’s pretty much a tour of todo.ly.    I have to say, I’m not sure if I’ll continue using it (I’d like to see an email notification of tasks in my gmail account, that would be a nice touch).  But if I were going to use an electronic to-do list, I’ll admit tod0.ly would be my first choice.

One Comment leave one →
  1. Elizabeth Jones permalink
    Tuesday, June 14, 2011 6:12 am

    Great tool! I use WorkFlowy.com just because I can keep it open all day on my computer and if I switch to home I can open it there too or on my phones browser if I’m off at a meeting. It is very very basic and looks much like an unordered list in a word document. You make whatever categories and subcategories you want. Whatever top category you click zooms in and you right click to get a menu to choose when you have completed an item. You can choose to have completed items be visible with a line through them or invisible. That is pretty much it, very basic. I have tried several other things, even outlook tasks and nothing has worked well for me because I have such a long to do list, but Workflowy can just be one continuous stream and I think that is why it has really worked. I may give todo.ly a try though because the one thing WorkFlowy does not have is due dates and I have just been adding those in the descriptions myself.

Leave a Reply

