Skip to content

Tuesday Two.Oh! A tool for book lovers.

Tuesday, June 21, 2011
by

Tuesday Two.Oh! is not meant as an endorsement, but as an exploration of the tools that are out there. Click at your own risk. 🙂

Today’s Tuesday Two.Oh! goes out to my Mom, who likes to give away books as soon as she finishes reading them. I, on the other hand (and much to my husbands shagrin), am a keeper. I have loads and loads of books that I’ve been keeping since I was a teenager. Hey, what do you expect when you marry a librarian? Let’s take a look at Book Mooch.

Photobucket

From the site: “BookMooch is a community for exchanging used books. BookMooch lets you give away books you no longer need in exchange for books you really want.”

Short and sweet, and in reality that really is a good reflection of the site. The concept is nothing more than what they say it is- upload books you would like to give away, look for books you would like to get in return. All for the price of postage. Keep in mind when signing up for this site to know your limits when sending books. Choose either in your country or worldwide. Shipping internationally can get expensive, so if you’re not willing to spend money on shipping it far, make sure you say so in your preferences.

That said, signing up is very easy.

Photobucket

Once you have filled out this information, Book Mooch asks that you log in. That done, you will see your homepage. It’s very simple.

Photobucket

The first thing I decided to do was browse Book Mooch for title I was interested in. I chose to look for All Quiet on the Western Front, an oldie but a goodie.

Photobucket

The search brings back categorized results, by author and edition. Though I don’t know how they choose their “related searches” as I don’t know what Stephanie Meyer or Chuck Palahniuk have to do with this specific search.

Photobucket

Here, if you would like to take a closer look at the book, you can see a brief synopsis, as well as see reader reviews.

done

If you would like to upload a book to give to someone else, it’s really easy. Just search for your title and edition. Once you’ve chosen to add it to your list of books you’re willing to give away, you’ll get the following warning.

Photobucket

Your uploaded book will look like this.

Photobucket

A requested book will look similar.

Photobucket

If you’re interested, here’s a snapshot of the most listed (to give away) books on Book Mooch.

Photobucket

As well as the books that are most often borrowed:

Photobucket

In closing, I think this site has a ton of potential. I am looking forward to using it myself once I have my books unpacked. One of the things that I like the most is that I don’t have to give away a book if I don’t want to- I just list books I would like to share and then can keep the books I get in return. It’s an even-stephans swap. I know I did a lot of screen caps, but I think that the best way to check out this site is to sign up for it if you’re interested. Watch those mailing preferences, and get to reading!

As always, thoughts and comments are welcome.

*This blog originally appeared on October 13th 2009 on the Brownez @ The Library Blog.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Tuesday, June 21, 2011 4:13 pm

    This could be a very useful tool, thanks!

  2. Sandra permalink
    Wednesday, June 22, 2011 5:05 am

    Why thank you so much for the dedication. I just might look into this site. Thanks. Love, Mom

Leave a Reply

